View RSS Feed

Stefano Grillo

Buddhism and Platonism

Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average.
Hi,
I am quite new to Buddhism but I am beginning to understand that one of the fondamental ideas is that we are always deluded due to the hindrances, and never seethings as they actually are except after experiencing jhanas. This seems to me in some ways like Plato's simile of the cave, in which people chained to their seat see shadows on the wall and mistake them for reality. Plato also thought that reality was not accessiblle to the realm of the five senses, though unlike the Buddha he did think that there was a permanent reality (the essences). Has anyone investigated the connections and differences between Buddhism and Platonism or has any thoughts on this?
Best,
Stef
Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

At the time of Plato, which was not so long after the time of the Buddha, there was quite a bit of trade between India and Greece. No doubt there was an exchange of ideas as well. Plato may well have been influenced by Buddhist ideas. He also believed, as did Pythagoras, in a kind of reincarnation, although it seems to have been more akin to the Hindu theory than to Buddhist doctrines.
    Thanks Rory, this is very interesting. I have often wondered about the similarities between the ancient Greek world and the Buddha's teaching. For example once when meditating following Ajahn Brahm's instructions my mind became so serene and filled with so much light that I later thought that the only (remotely) comparable experience I had had in my life had been after contemplating some of the great Greek art or after reading some of the Greek thinkers. With metta. Stef
    Beyond what can be explained in words there is the inexpressible. This can be known in religion and art through the serene mind. Seems like you are well on your way there!

With metta
    Rory