Thread: Teaching meditation as a job...

Teaching meditation as a job...

Hi Bhante, how are you?

Lately I've been reflecting on my livelihood and what that will entail until I ordain (which I fervently hope occurs!).
    I've been studying counselling and intended to be a drug and alcohol counsellor as this is an area I have a lot of personal experience in. However as space-time unravels I am becoming less inclined towards doing so and more interested in teaching meditation. I would still love to help the drug and alcohol sector by counselling/speaking about recovery and also teaching meditation to those suffering from the affliction of addiction, however what I really want is to focus on teaching meditation.

Both my heart and mind become joyful at the thought of such a future however I have two concerns; I need to make a living to subsist prior to ordination and I'm not exactly sure how I feel about charging for meditation instruction. I expect I would teach a lot for free but would still need to make some money. I realise I could have another job as well and simply offer free meditation instruction in the meantime but I'd much prefer to focus on it fully. I wonder what your thoughts on this are?

My other concern is something more recent, which arose after watching an interview of Ajahn Brahm: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=29uUDq4st4I
    In it he speaks of the danger of teaching meditation without also teaching sila. That mindfulness on it's own could be dangerous. An example he uses is that of a gunman who practices mindfulness, doing so he will have better aim.